Outreach and Professional Services


Cocoa Research Centre staff are members of several boards/committees/panels etc:

  • The International Cocoa Organisation (ICCO) Ad hoc panel of experts on fine or flavour cocoa
  • Trinidad & Tobago’s Cocoa Stakeholders Steering Committee
  • SPS Capacity Building team of Trinidad and Tobago

Professional Services

CRC staff also provide the following professional services.

  • Organoleptic and other quality evaluations on cocoa bean samples for
    • Cocoa and Coffee Industry Board, Trinidad & Tobago
    • Ministry of Food Production, Land and Marine Affairs.
    • Rausch Schokoladen Gmbh, Germany.
  • Organoleptic assessment expertise on chocolate and cocoa liquor samples for Chocolate Companies and or individuals in value added processing in Ecuador, Jamaica, and Trinidad and Tobago.
  • Providing advice on cocoa rehabilitation, production and processing to cocoa farmers in Trinidad & Tobago.
  • Collaboration in the design and construction of cocoa solar dryers for Prism Agricultural Estates Company Limited, and the Ministry of Food Production, Land and Marine Affairs.
  • Collaboration in quality and sensory assessments with Guittard Chocolate Company Limited, USA.
  • Provision of facilities at CRC for chocolate making by local entrepreneurs.

Postgraduate Supervision and other student support

Staff at CRC are also involved in supervision of Postgraduate research projects:

  • M.Phil. students in the Department of Chemistry: Sheldon Pilgrim and Ashaki Andrews.  Main Supervisor: Ivan Chang Yen, CRC supervisor: Darin Sukha
  • Ph.D. Food Science and Technology student Naailah Ali. Main supervisor: Gail Baccus-Taylor, CRC supervisor: Darin Sukha
  • M.Sc. student Janeille Bacchus, supervised by Lambert Motilal.
  • M.Sc. student Dane Bailey supervised by Dr. T.N. Sreenivasan
  • M.Sc. student Kenia Campo supervised by Romina Umaharan and Dr. Surendra Surujdeo-Maharaj

CRC staff also regularly give advice and assist numerous undergraduate students with cocoa-related projects in the Faculty of Science and Technology and Faculty of Engineering of The University of the West Indies.